—KD\QA% GDL means

Graduated driver licensing is designed to make the
learning process safer for new drivers by managing
risk as new drivers learn.

Mfw GDL is important

16-year-olds have the highest crash rate per mile
driven of any age group. Motor vehicle crashes are
the leading cause of death among teens aged 16
to 18.

—Ear%fl?ete% drivers

+ As a parent, you are cosigner on your teen’s
license.

+ You have control of your teen’s license until he
or she is 18.

* As cosigner, you are liable for any damages
resulting from your teen’s driving.

+ As your teen’s parent or guardian, you know
when he or she has the skills and maturity to
drive. That's why your permission is required
at every step in the juvenile licensing process.

+ Driving is not a right for teens. It's a privilege
parents grant to teens. That's why you have
the right to withhold or cancel your teen’s
driving privileges at any time for any reason.
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For detailed text of Ohio’s GDL laws and FAQs go to:

www.bmv.ohio.gov/driver_license/new_gdl_info.htm

INSURANCE

ears old

Ohio law states:

« 16-year-olds are restricted from driving between
midnight and 6 a.m.

« They may not have more than one passenger
who is not a family member in the vehicle.

+ One moving violation within the first six months
of licensure may result in a requirement to drive
with a parent for six months.

ears old

Ohio law states:

* 17-year-olds are restricted from driving
between 1 a.m.and 5 a.m.

+ They may only have as many passengers as
seat belts in the vehicle.

DRIVE BY THE

RULES. N

KEEP THE g

PRIVILEGE.




Whether your teen is getting ready to start driver’s
education, has a learner’s permit or recently began
driving, YOUR INFLUENCE MATTERS.

A study by State Farntand the Center for Injury Research
and Prevention at the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
found that teens’ heightened crash risk results from:

Inexperience

Process

About two in three fatal teen crashes are due to
driver error, including mistakes due to inexperience
and distractions. Teens’ crash risk is highest

during the first six months (or 1,000 miles) of
independent driving.

Distractions

Having a single teen passenger doubles a teen
driver's fatal crash risk. With three or more teen
passengers, crash risk increases fourfold.

Speed

Crash risk increases with speed for any driver; add
in teens’ lack of experience, and the risk only
increases.

Driving at Night

Four of 10 teen traffic deaths occur between 9 p.m.
and 6 a.m. Limiting teens’ nighttime driving can
cut crash rates by up to 60 percent.

The Biggest Risk of All? Not Buckling Up

Two of three teens (both drivers and passengers)

who die in traffic crashes were not wearing seat belts.

For more information go to:
www.ridelikeafriend.com or
www.betterteendriving.com
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A temporary permit can be obtained at
age 15 1/2 and is valid for one year.

When driving with a temporary permit,

a driver must be accompanied by a parent,
guardian, or licensed instructor in the front
seat.

Training requirements include:

o aminimum of 24 hours of classroom
instruction,

o eight hours behind-the-wheel
instruction in driver training and

o completion of 50 hours of driving with
a parent or legal guardian (at least 10
of them at night). A parent or guardian
must verify the 50 hours in writing by
signing an affidavit at the BMV.

Ohio law requires all drivers to prove
financial responsibility, so this is a great
time to check in with your insurance agent
to make sure you and your novice driver
have adequate coverage and find out about
any available discounts.

DRIVE BY THE
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For detailed text of Ohio's GDL laws and FAQs go to:

www.bmv.chio.gov/driver_license/new_gdl_info.htm




